top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Anderson

The Happiest Baby in the Happiest Place

What better way to celebrate three months of life than in the Happiest Place on Earth, am I right? We took a much-needed vacation down to Disneyland with my family and our baby girl. But, we'll get to that in a minute. Let's talk about all that happened during SJ's third month of life!


Our new favorite word around here is "ahh-goo." Sara Jane's vocabulary has really taken off this month, and now she's my favorite person to talk with! She smiles on demand and is even warming up to strangers. Things are getting pretty busy at work, so she's been spending lots of time talking to herself and it just melts my heart. I love her little voice more than anything...besides maybe her cheeks. Those are pretty amazing too.


This month, SJ went on her first hike down in St. George! Aaaaand slept through pretty much the whole thing. She doesn't really stand a chance once you put her in the front carrier. It was fun hanging out with our friends Lisa and Justin and their little Clara Grace! Someday Sara and Clara will be besties just like their moms. :)

Speaking of besties, Lilli and Madi both had their babies this month too! Juniper Lynn and Eli Mitchell are here and I just can't wait until these little ones can play with each other!


Sara Jane also went swimming for the very first time! Baby girl could not have been more unimpressed. She was expressionless for the entirety of the swim, but hey, she didn't hate it! We'll certainly be doing a lot more swimming this summer. I can barely even handle that little body in a swimsuit. TOO CUTE.

If I had a dollar for everyone who told me my baby looks just like her dad...well, good thing her dad is pretty cute. Here's Hayden with his little mini-me. I keep trying to convince myself that she has my eyes...you can see it, right?

We went down to St. George again on our way to California, so SJ got lots of Layton family time! Gabe is probably the most smitten with our little girl.

Grandpa Steve comes pretty close, though. Full circle moment here: how many basketball games did I watch with my dad as a baby?

This picture is just too cute not to include! Look at that sweet little face. I can't get enough.

We watched Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat and she could not take her eyes off the screen! We may have a thespian on our hands!


There's nothing quite like an escape to warm, sunny St. George during the bleak winter of northern Utah. What better way to enjoy the outdoors than in a hammock with dad?

We went on another, much longer hike to the Snow Canyon lookout. We hadn't bought a sun hat for her yet, so we improvised with some baby underwear and a not-baby "Vote for Pedro" hat (rest assured, we did buy a sun hat later that very day!). True to form, Sara Jane slept almost the entire time, with the exception of the lookout when she decided she was hungry...

Well, what better way to connect with the earth than by breastfeeding your baby in the sand, am I right?

The next day, we hopped in the car and headed to Anaheim! I don't really like having SJ sit in her carseat for very long, so I wasn't very excited about our six-hour drive. But, SJ did great! I think she was so bored that she needed something to occupy herself...this is the car ride when she really found her voice! She was soooo talkative and soooo cute.

We ordered our Disneyland tickets through Bridget's school (she was performing there, that's why we went) and there was a huge ticket mix up and, long story short, we ended up with two tickets to California Adventure and none for Disneyland. We were super bummed, and the only hope we had for getting the tickets switched was to show up at the ticket office at 7 a.m. and hope we could talk to a really nice employee. Luckily, our girl Lisamarie was able to snatch exactly 4 tickets so we got to go to both parks! Good think too, so Sara Jane could show off her Snow White outfit :).

This next series of photos are some of my favorites ever:



Holy cow is she even real?? I love her.


It's pretty dumb how few pictures we took over the two days. We were just having too much fun! Disneyland in March is so nostalgic for me. Exactly nine years ago, Hayden and I went together for our high school Madrigals trip, and look at us now!

Shortly after this picture was taken, baby girl had QUITE the blowout. Other than that, she was an angel pretty much the whole time! She had a couple of breakdowns, but who could blame her.


Ohhhh baby Sara Jane. Watching my baby learn and develop is my favorite thing ever. She's getting so smart and so cute and I can't wait to see how much she grows in the coming months!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page